## APPENDIX B - Illinois Local Workforce Innovation Areas and Economic Development Regions

The State of Illinois consists of 10 Economic Development Regions and 22 Local Workforce Innovation Areas (LWIAs). All LWIAs have established boards in place and have at least one comprehensive one-stop workforce center. Governor Pritzker determined that Illinois' ten economic development regions will continue to serve as the regional planning areas that are required by Section 106 of the WIOA to engage in joint planning, integrate service delivery, share administrative costs and enter into regional coordination efforts with economic development agencies operating in the same region. The ten economic development regions were established in 2003 based on an analysis of labor market information and several other data factors including statewide commuting patterns surrounding major and minor metropolitan centers. These ten regions include the 22 LWIAs and 102 counties.

